STATE OF TEXAS )( COUNTY OF BRAZORIA )( CITY OF FREEPORT )(

BE IT REMEMBERED that the Planning and Traffic Commission of the City of Freeport, Texas met in a regular meeting on **Tuesday, February 24, 2009 at 6:00 P.M**. at the Police Department Conference Room, 430 North Brazosport Boulevard, Freeport, Texas to discuss the following:

#### **Planning Commission:**

Diane Williams, Chairperson Eric Hayes Roberto Caceres Reuben Cuellar Alonzo Martinez Joyce Adkins

Staff: Larry Ellis Melissa Farmer Nat Hickey Wallace Shaw Mayor Larry McDonald Councilman Ron Wise

Visitors: Rosa McDonald Pixie Floyd

### **Open Meeting.**

Ms. Diane Williams called meeting to order at 6:00 P.M.

# Invocation.

Mr. Eric Hayes called for a moment of silence.

### **Approval of Minutes.**

Mr. Eric Hayes moved to accept the minutes for January 27, 2009, seconded by Ms. Rueben Cuellar, by a vote of 5 to 1, with Ms. Joyce Adkins opposing, the minutes were approved.

### Discuss/consider recommendations to City Council regarding changes, if any, to Insurance Required under Section 150.091 (A) and 150.106 (A) of the Code of Ordinances book.

Mr. Larry Ellis explained to the Planning Commission that the building secretary had spoken to the Texas Department of Insurance and that she was told that the State of Texas did not require business owners to carry Workers Compensation Insurance. He told them that small business owners would not be able to afford the insurance that the City required and that most business owners would not be able to work in Freeport if they were required to carry this insurance.

Ms. Joyce Adkins made a motion to send Ordinance 150.091 (A) and 150.106 (A) to the City Council to be eliminated from the Code of Ordinance book, seconded by Mr. Alonzo Martinez, by a vote of 5 to 1, with Mr. Roberto Caceres voting against, the motion passed.

# Adjourn.

Mr. Eric Hayes made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Alonzo Martinez. Meeting was adjourned at 6:50 P.M.

These minutes read and approved this \_\_\_\_\_day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2009.

Diane Williams, Chairperson