State of Texas

County of Brazoria

City of Freeport

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the City of Freeport met in a special meeting on Monday, July 14th, 2008 at the Freeport Police Department Municipal Court Room, 430 North Brazosport Boulevard, Freeport Texas for the purpose of considering the following items:

City Council:	Larry L. McDonald Clan A. Cameron Jim Saccomanno Ron Wise Norma M. Garcia	
Staff:	Gary Beverly, City Manager Wallace Shaw, City Attorney Delia Munoz, City Secretary Nat Hickey, Property Manager Larry Fansher, Public Works Director Mary Stotler, Main Street Director Pinkey Hartline, Golf Course Director	
Visitors:	Roddy Mohler Diane Williams Sandra Leavey Mike Jones Angel Kant Pixie Floyd Dorothy Pirrung Eric Hayes Rosa McDonald Cathy Williams Susie Wise Edna Allan Judy Shaefer Johnny McQuaig Elliott Cundieff Bobby J. Allen Mary Darnell Cyril Wilcox	Barbara Mohler Sandra W. Wicke Kenny Kouches Wright Gore, III Lila Lloyd Michelle Kent Jim Pirrung Larry Shaefer Louie Jones Joyce Adkins Eileen Koenig Brenda Laird Helen McQuaig Tobey Davenport Nickey Dickey Kelly Wise Ronald Theriot Lorenzo Gomez

Call to Order.

The meeting was called to order by Mayor McDonald at 6:00 p.m.

Invocation.

Councilman Cameron offered the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Mayor McDonald led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Consideration of the approval of the July 7th, 2008 Council Minutes.

On a motion by Councilwoman Garcia, seconded by Councilman Saccomanno, with all present voting "aye", Council unanimously approved the July 7th, 2008 Council Minutes.

<u>Consideration of the approval of appointing qualified person(s) to and Council</u> <u>liaisons for the following Boards and Commissions.</u>

Planning Commission - Liaison Gary Beverly

On a motion by Councilman Wise, seconded by Councilman Cameron, with all present voting 3 to 2, Council approved a two year term of office to Alonzo Martinez and Eric Hayes to the Planning Commission of said City. Councilwoman Garcia and Councilman Saccomanno opposed.

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting 3 to 2, Council approved the remainder of the unexpired term of office to Raul Ramirez, Roberto Caceres, and Reuben Cuellar to the Planning Commission of said City. Councilwoman Garcia and Councilman Saccomanno opposed.

Diane Williams, Chairman of the Planning Commission remained.

Library Board – Liaison Cameron

On a motion by Councilman Saccomanno, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting "aye', Council unanimously approved a full term of office to Rita Angel-Cundieff, Laverne Siemers and James Walker replacing Raquel Webb to an unexpired term to the Library Board of said City.

Historical Commission and Main Street Advisory Board – Liaison Saccomanno

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting "aye", Council approved to table this item for further discussion.

Board of Adjustment – Liaison Wise

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Saccomanno, with all present voting "aye", Council unanimously approved Hallard Fields to the Board of Adjustment of said City.

<u>Urban Renewal Board</u> - Liaison Wise

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting "aye", Council unanimously approved John Shults, Jr. and Guadalupe Gonzalez to the Urban Renewal Board of said City.

Beautification/Park Recreation Committee – Liaison Garcia

On a motion by Councilman Wise, seconded by Councilman Saccomanno, with all present voting "aye", Council unanimously approved a full term of office to Rosemary Bravo, Jo Ann Fields, and Mingo Marquez, Jr. to the Beautification/Parks Recreation Committee.

Economic Development Corporation – Liaison Cameron

On a motion by Councilman Saccomanno, seconded by Councilwoman Garcia, with all present voting 2 to 3, Council failed the motion to keep the Economic Development Corporation members. Mayor McDonald, Councilman Wise, and Councilman Cameron opposed.

On a motion by Mayor McDonald, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting 3 to 2, Council approved a full term of office to Dan Tarver, Clan A. Cameron, and Oliver "Johnny "McQuaig to the Economic Development Corporation of said City. Councilman Saccomanno and Councilwoman Garcia opposed.

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting 3 to 2, Council approved an unexpired term of office to Gilbert Cuellar, Bobby Joe Casale, Lila Diehl and William W. Rains to the Economic Development Corporation of said City. Councilman Saccomanno and Councilwoman Garcia opposed.

Senior Citizens Commission – Liaison Saccomanno

On a motion by Mayor McDonald, seconded by Councilman Cameron, with all present voting "aye", Council unanimously approved a full term of office to Carol Rangel, Dorothy Pirrung, and Mary K. Talbert to the Senior Citizens Commission of said City.

<u>Adjourn</u>

On a motion by Councilman Cameron, seconded by Councilman Wise, with all present voting "aye", the meeting was adjourned at 7:09 p.m.

Delia Munoz City Secretary Larry L. McDonald Mayor